The West Bend-Mallard CSD Board of Directors held a Special Meeting on Thursday, February 1, 2024, in the Administration Board Room, 300 3<sup>rd</sup> Ave SW, West Bend, IA 50597.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by President John Zaugg. The following members were present: Dave Bruellman, Jillian Hansen, Chris Montag, Dawn Schmidt, Lisa Traub, and Nicole Myer.

Visitors: Board Secretary Crystal Eggers, Devin Ellrich - GCB Board President, Marsha Habben - GCB Board Vice President, Paul Tedesco – EdWise.

All motions are unanimously approved unless noted.

Approve Agenda: Schmidt moved to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Myer. Motion carried.

Resignations: Myer moved to approve the resignations from Carlene Heschke and Corbin Fehr effective the end of this school year. Seconded by Traub. Motion carried.

At 6:05 pm Hansen made a motion to move into Closed Session pursuant to Iowa Code 21.5(i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual request a closed session. Seconded by Montag. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Bruellman, Hansen, Montag, Myer, Traub, & Schmidt. Nays: None. Motion carried.

At 10:56 pm Schmidt made a motion to come out of Closed Session pursuant to Iowa Code 21.5(i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual request a closed session. Seconded by Myer. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Bruellman, Hansen, Montag, Myer, Traub, & Schmidt. Nays: None. Motion carried.

## Contracts:

Schmidt moved to approve hiring Paul Peppmeier as Superintendent with a 2 year contract beginning July 1, 2024. Seconded by Myer. Motion carried.

Montag moved to approve hiring Mike Dunlap and Renee Chism as Drivers Education Instructors. Seconded by Hansen. Motion carried.

| Bruellman moved to adjourn at 11:07 pm. Motion carried. |                                 |
|---|---------------------------------|
|   |                                 |
|   |                                 |
| John Zaugg, Board President                             | Crystal Eggers, Board Secretary |